Skip to main content

Board of Directors

Volunteer Led. Volunteer Driven.

From the board of directors to fundraising volunteers and the thousands of others who lend a hand each year, volunteer leaders ensure United Way continues to help the Virginia Peninsula impact the issues that matter most.

The Board of Directors helps shape the future of United Way. They are responsible for agency oversight and keeping United Way on the right track. The dedication of these volunteers to the Virginia Peninsula community and their commitment to creating real, lasting change is what drives United Way forward.

Board of Directors

William C. Bell

Jennifer Smith-Brown
Vice Chairman
J Smith Enterprises

Joycelyn Y. Spight
Old Point National Bank

Thomas J. Cosgrove
Newport News Shipbuilding

Brian K. Skinner
TowneBank Peninsula/Williamsburg

Steven C. Barrs
C.A. Barrs Contractor, Inc. 

Gary L. Behm
Enterprise Holdings 

Ronald R. Bieszczad
Sentara Careplex Hospital

Carla T. Brittle
James City County Parks and Recreation

Allison J. Brody
Williamsburg Health Foundation

Mary B. Bunting
City of Hampton

Lindsey A. Carney
Patten, Wornom, Hatten & Diamonstein

Anthony W. Conyers

Jerri F. Dickseski
Huntington Ingalls Industries


William B. Downey
Riverside Health System 

Teresa  L. Edwards
Sentara Healthcare

J. Patrick Finneran
Newport News Public Schools

Gordon  L. Gentry Jr. 
TowneBank Peninsula/Williamsburg

Gregory F. Lawson, CPA/ABV, CFF, CGMA

Michael W. Maier
Jefferson Lab

Graham A. Nuttycombe
Merrill Lynch

Keith D. Roots
Christopher Newport University

Leslie H. Schultz
Henderson Inc.

Conway H. Sheild III
Jones, Blechman, Woltz, & Kelly

Sandy B. Wanner

Marshall N. Warner
Chesapeake Bank